National Emergency Planning Organization

The National Emergency Planning Organization (NEPO) is the umbrella organization comprising of all participants in national disaster management efforts. NEPO membership includes representatives from Government and Non-Government Organizations (NGO’s) as well as Private Voluntary Organizations (PVO’s) and individual volunteers. The NEPO Advisory Committee develops and recommends policies, plans and guidelines for prevention, mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery measures for Dominica. The Advisory Committee reports directly to the NEPO Chairman (the Prime Minister) who is responsible for activating the National Plan if necessary.

The Office of Disaster Management (ODM) is the Secretariat of NEPO and is responsible for establishing and managing a National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC). Under the guidance of the ODM, District Emergency Committees are responsible for establishing and managing District Emergency Operations Centres (DEOC’s) and Community Emergency Committees, Community Emergency Operations Centres (CEOC’s) as necessary.


The Hon. Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit

Chairman of NEPO