Climate Resilience and Recovery Plan (CRRP)

In response to the destruction of Maria, in 2018, Dominica released a climate resilience policy framework to guide its recovery journey in the form of the National Resilience Development Strategy 2030 (NRDS). The NRDS articulates the overall policy framework of the Government and outlines 43 resilience goals aimed at ensuring that development is people-centred. The NRDS stipulates that, at the highest level, the Climate Resilience and Recovery Plan (CRRP) should reflect three pillars of resilience, namely: (1) Climate Resilient Systems (2) Prudent Disaster Risk Management Systems and (3) Effective Disaster Response and Recovery. The CRRP expands these three pillars into six results areas for a climate-resilient Dominica, namely: Strong Communities; Robust Economy; Well-planned and Durable Infrastructure; Enhanced Collective Consciousness; Strengthened Institutional Systems and Protected, as well as, Sustainably Leveraged Natural and Other Unique Assets.